Photography: Lionsgate

Taylor Sheridan’s acclaimed drama claims five of the seven prizes voted by online balloting.

Can we have the envelopes, please?

No doubt about it: Wind River generated a floodtide of enthusiasm among voters in the inaugural C&I Movie Awards. When we finished totaling all the online ballots, we found the critically acclaimed drama about a homicide investigation near a snowbound Native American reservation could claim no fewer than five of the seven prizes: Best Picture; Best Actor for Jeremy Renner; Best Supporting Actress for Kelsey Asbille Chow; and Best Screenplay and Best Director for Taylor Sheridan.

Other winners: Q’Orianka Kilcher as Best Actress for Te Ata and Jim Caviezel as Best Supporting Actor for The Ballad of Lefty Brown.

Jeremy Renner stars in Wind River as Cory Lambert, a game tracker with deep community ties and a haunted past who joins forces with a rookie FBI agent (Elizabeth Olsen) and the local tribal police chief (Graham Greene) to apprehend anyone responsible for the death of a young woman whose body Lambert discovered in a remote area. Kelsey Asbille Chow (billed as Kelsey Asbille in the film) appears in extended flashbacks throughout the narrative as Natalie Hanson, the tragic victim whose death sparks Lambert’s investigation.

Q’Orianka Kilcher — who also had a role in Hostiles, another C&I Awards Best Picture nominee — plays the title role in Te Ata, Nathan Frankowski’s award-winning biographical drama about the life and achievements of Mary Frances Thompson, who danced and acted under the stage name Te Ata as she performed everywhere from Broadway to the White House while celebrating her Chickasaw Nation culture.

Jim Caviezel plays James Bierce, an ambitious and duplicitous governor who once rode with the title character in The Ballad of Lefty Brown, Jared Moshe’s rousingly old-fashioned western about a longtime sidekick (Bill Pullman) who goes gunning for justice when a Wild West hero is killed.

Here is a complete list of nominations for the C&I Movie Awards. Winners (which appear in boldface) were chosen through online balloting that ended Tuesday, February 27. Nominees were chosen by the Cowboys & Indians magazine staff.


The Ballad of Lefty Brown

The Hero



Wind River


Christian Bale — Hostiles

Sam Elliott — The Hero

Bill Pullman — The Ballad of Lefty Brown

Jeremy Renner — Wind River

Harry Dean Stanton — Lucky


Nicole Kidman — The Beguiled

Q’Orianka Kilcher — Te Ata

Elizabeth Olsen — Wind River

Rosamund Pike — Hostiles

Sharon Stone — Running Wild


Gil Birmingham — Wind River

Jim Caviezel — The Ballad of Lefty Brown

Bruce Dern — Hickok

Graham Greene — Wind River

Wes Studi — Hostiles


Kathy Baker — The Ballad of Lefty Brown

Kelsey Asbille Chow — Wind River

Kirsten Dunst — The Beguiled

Elle Fanning — The Beguiled

Laura Prepon — The Hero


Scott Cooper — Hostiles

Brett Haley — The Hero

John Carroll Lynch — Lucky

Jared Moshe — The Ballad of Lefty Brown

Taylor Sheridan — Wind River


Scott Cooper — Hostiles

Brett Haley, Marc Basch — The Hero

Jared Moshe — The Ballad of Lefty Brown

Taylor Sheridan — Wind River

Logan Sparks, Drago Sumonja — Lucky